Posted by: kenyakatie | July 5, 2011

So its been a while…

11 months later and I am back!  I know I promised Kenya stories and I know that I was going to blog about the entire trip…well once we got back life got crazy.  Spoiler alert: We got engaged on top of the mountain…at sunrise…it was probably the most romantic thing that has ever happened to me and well that is probably a good thing for my proposal…

 

Now lets review what that meant about my year:

-Getting home from Kenya I had to immediately jump into all of the fun of my brother’s wedding

-Then I got to start all of my wedding stuff (by the way Spoiler Alert:  I am now a married woman…crazy!)

-My fiance moved into my house (yay to save a year’s worth of rent and yay because then I actually got to see him this past year) but then left the next day to go on a mission trip without really unpacking

-School started

-Grad school continued

-And I was a first year head coach of the speech team

 

To say the year was a bit insane is a little bit of an understatement.  It has been a whirlwind but it was amazing.  For our wedding we named each of the tables after important parts of our trip and gave the guests a little bit of information about these places so since I never quite blogged on the different parts of the trip I figured I would start to post them on here!

First post:

We arrived at Kenya pretty late after about 2 days of travelling…you have to love two 8 hour flights and a layover in Amsterdam.  We met Robert, a driver that the company we were climbing with sent to pick us up, after a long wait at customs (nothing in Kenya moves fast and that was my first exposure to it) and we found all of our luggage…it was a little touch and go for a few minutes.

Robert drove us to an atm where Nancy, friend of the hubbie’s sister (oooooh I could call her sister in law now!!/sister) got her card stuck in the machine.  We decided to go to the hotel, sleep and come back in the morning to retrieve it so we ended up at:

Parkside Hotel

 Parkside was our “home” while we stayed in Nairobi. Located in the heart of the city, we were able to store extra bags with them as long as we were scheduled to return and stay another night. This was the headquarters where we prepared for the mountain climb, then finally returned to for a much needed shower. It was also the site of the massive repacking extravaganza before we returned to the States, in order to fit as much of Laura’s stuff in our bags as possible.  The rooms were clean, the staff was nice and there was a cute breakfast place just down the block with a Nakumatt (the Kenyan equivalent of Walmart) not far either!

As a side note:  the Nakumatt is awesome.  You can look them up on line.  We also stopped there and got some water (go bottled water!) and a phone card for sister in laws international phone.  This would prove to be very useful shortly!

 

We leave on our honeymoon tomorrow-Off to Antigua.  I am going to try really hard to keep this as up to date as possible!

Responses

  1. Yayyy blogging! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

